Statewide Research Network Directory2016-11-14T10:51:49+00:00

Statewide Nursing Research Network

The North Dakota Center for Nursing is building a Statewide Nursing Research Network. A key step is identifying and connecting nursing researchers across the state. The following information lists nursing researchers from across North Dakota.

Submit Your Name to this Directory

Would you like to submit your name and the type of research you are conducting to add to this directory? Please fill out this survey by clicking here to get started!

Toni Abelseth
Title: RN, Badlands Human Service Center
Email: tabelseth@nd.gov

Location: Dickinson, ND

Research: N/A

Julie Brady
Title: RN/CN, St. Joseph’s Hospital
Email: mejfb@yahoo.com

Location: Dickinson, ND

Research: N/A

Kelly Buettner-Schmidt
Title: Associate Professor, North Dakota State University
Email: kelly.buettner-schmidt@ndsu.edu

Location: Fargo, ND

Research: Health policy, public health; and tobacco prevention, cessation, and control.

Sherry Burg
Title: Nurse Manager, Altru Health System
Email: sburg@altru.org

Location: Grand Forks, ND

Research: Looking at development of research regarding holistic care for staff and inpatients.

Anna Carlson
Title: Director of Nursing and Residential Services, Heartview Foundation
Email: anna@heartview.org

Location: Bismarck, ND

Research: Technology grant with SAMSHA.

Jennifer DeJong
Title: PhD, Associate Professor of Nursing, CNE, FNP-BC, IBCLC, Concordia College
Email: dejong@cord.edu

Location: Moorhead, MN

Research: Parkinson’s Disease Education for nursing students, Interdisciplinary Case Studies, Breastfeeding Education for nursing students

Jerry Differding
Title: Trauma Research Program Manager
Email: jerome.differding@sanfordhealth.org

Location: Sanford Fargo

Research: Trauma Critical Care

Margie Hair
Title: Associate Professor, University of Mary
Email: mjhair@umary.edu

Location: Bismarck, ND

Research: Students Perceptions of Multiple-Patient Simulation

Loretta Heuer
Title: Professor, North Dakota State University School of Nursing
Email: Loretta.heuer@ndsu.edu

Location: Fargo, ND

Research: Nursing Workforce Diversity, American Indian Youths’ Hope for Future Education and Employment, Oral History of American Indian Nurses

Amanda Kuntz
Title: RN, CHI St. Josephs Health
Email: amkuntz24@gmail.com

Location: Dickinson, ND

Research: I am starting the DNP program at NDSU and will develop a research project in the program.

Billie Madler
Title: Chair, Online and Distance Nursing Education
Employer: CHI St. Alexius/University of Mary
Email: bmadler@umary.edu

Location: Bismarck, ND

Research: Chairing student work related to these primary research topics: Rapid Response Teams Pre-Operative Education Operating Rooms Nurses: Learning Styles, Orientation and Retention Chairing Doctoral EBP Change Projects related to: Antibiotics Stewardship Emergency Communication Tools for Healthcare Providers Caring for Children with Special Needs Sepsis Early Recognition Program to Improve Colorectal Cancer Screening SANE Program

Marjorie McCullagh
Title: Associate Professor and Director, Occupational Health Nursing Program, University of Michigan
Email: mcculla@umich.edu

Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan

Research: I currently am PI for two (and co-I on one) NIH-funded R01 RCTs to test effectiveness of various programs (educational and otherwise) to influence the health behavior of workers, with an aim toward protecting their health and safety.

Patricia Moulton
Title: PhD, Executive Director, ND Center for Nursing
Email: patricia.moulton@ndcenterfornursing.org

Location: Fargo, ND

Research: Supply, demand and education, workforce data, work environment program evaluation, American Indian Community University Partnership Workforce Data Program evaluation

Karen Robinson
Title: Nursing Research Consultant and Clinical Quality Analyst, Sanford Health, Essentia Health Medical Centers
Email: karen.robinson@sanfordhealth.org

Location: Fargo, ND

Research: 1. Impact of surgery and the predictors of quality of life and coping strategies on pain following vaginal or laparoscopic hysterectomy 2. Effects of noise on patients’ level of pain

Previous research: 1. Instrument development 2. Nursing reimbursement 3. Nurse Managed clinics

Debra Solem
Title: Clinic Office Nurse, Altru Health System
Email: dsolem@altru.org

Location: Grand Forks, ND

Research: N/A

Julie Traynor
Title: Director, Dakota Nursing Program
Email: julie.traynor@lrsc.edu

Location: Devil’s Lake, ND

Research: Student success, faculty development, orientation and mentoring

Kara Vollrath
Title: RN, MSN-Assistant Professor, University of Mary
Email: kcvollrath@umary.edu

Location: Bismarck, ND

Research: Students Perceptions of Multiple-Patient Simulation

Joanie Weigel
Title: RN Instructor, University of Mary
Email: jtweigel@umary.edu

Location: Bismarck, ND

Research: Students Perceptions on Multiple-Patient Simulation

Jana Zwilling
Title: Director, FNP Program, University of North Dakota
Email: Jana.zwilling@und.edu

Location: Grand Forks, ND

Research: Nurse Practitioner Workforce